Frequently Asked Questions

Q: How old do I have to be to get a tattoo??

A: In the state of New Hampshire you must be 18 years or older to get a tattoo and you must furnish a valid photo ID regardless of your age, these include:

  • State issued Drivers License

  • State issued Non-Driver ID

  • Military or Government issued ID

  • Passport 

Q: Can my parents sign for me to get a tattoo if I'm under 18??

A: NO, New Hampshire state law requires you to be 18 to get a tattoo with absolutely no acceptions to the rule.

Q: How old do I have to be to get a piercing??

A: There are different age requirements for body piercing, we DO NOT pierce anyone under the age of 5 and at that age you can only get earlobe piercings. All other ear  piercings can be done at age 13 and up with a parent present, most basic facial piercings and Navel piercings can be done at age 14 and up with a parent present. All other piercings you must be 18 with a valid ID. ALL MINORS MUST BE ACCOMPANIED BY A PARENT OR LEGAL GUARDIAN AND BOTH MUST HAVE A VALID PHOTO ID, these include:

  • State issued Drivers License

  • State issued Non-Driver ID

  • Military or Government issued ID

  • Passport 

  • Birth Certificate

Q: Can I get a discount for having multiple piercings or tattoos done?

A: If we are doing a promotional event then there might be a deal to be had, but we are people too and we have bills to pay so on a regular day to day basis we do not give out discounts. If you are looking to get a deal keep your eyes on our social media accounts and here on our website to see when our next promotional event is coming up!

Q: Is there a shop minimum price for tattoos/ is there an hourly rate??

A: Yes, our shop minimum is $75 and most small tattoos fall under this price, our hourly rate is $150.

Q: How much does it hurt to get pierced/ tattooed??

A: Everyone is different, everyone has a different pain tollerance, and while there are certain areas that typically hurt more than others, its hard to say because of this variance from person to person. Typically women tend to have a higher pain threshold than men, but at the end of the day, again everyone is different.

To schedule an appointment we ask that you send us an email to whitemtntattoo@gmail.com with your name and phone number as well as any reference images for what you are looking to have done, a rough estimate in inches for sizing, where you would like it to be placed and whether you would like color or not.  If you would like text we ask that you go to www.dafont.com and pick 3-4 fonts that you like as not all fonts translate well into a tattoo, also bear in mind that not all fonts have numbers or punctuation and the smaller you go the less detail we can fit in the tattoo. once we have all this we can have an artist take a look and we will call you once we have a better idea of how long the piece will take so we can schedule you for an appropriate amount of time!!, if it's your first time coming in please make sure you have a valid ID on you, remember NH state law requires you to be 18 to get a tattoo. We require a NON REFUNDABLE retainer of at least $50 to book a tattoo appointment, this will hold your spot in our schedule and go towards the final cost of your tattoo, if for any reason you need to reschedule please call us at least 48 hours prior to your scheduled time and we will happily reschedule your appointment HOWEVER if you do not reschedule and you do not show up your retainer WILL BE LOST. All minors who are getting pierced must be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian and both the minor and their parent or guardian must have valid forms of ID on them, if you have any questions about body piercing age requirements please call the shop and we will gladly assist you with any questions you may have. Before getting a tattoo or a piercing we suggest not consuming alcohol or drugs for at least 24 hours prior to your appointment, make sure you eat at least one hour before and stay hydrated for the best possible experience. Please be mindful of the aftercare instructions given to you by your artist as it is your responsibility to properly care for your tattoo or piercing! Personal hygiene is important and your artist and other customers will appreciate it if you come in smelling your best.